McCain Campaign Registered Palin MILF Domain Name?

Here is an interesting piece of news. The US election is coming up in November and both the Republicans and Democrats have been actively working on their campaigns for months now. In today’s day and age it is common practice to register domain names which may be used by the opposition to smear or hinder their campaign so it’s not surprising that both sides have been registering domain names with various slanderous word-name combinations.

In a surprising move as reported by the Huffington Post, the Republican campaign has gone and registered the VoteForTheMilf.com domain name with an apparent aim to capitalize on Governet Palin’s “hotness” factor?

At the time this was discovered by the Huffington post and others, the domain name redirected to JohnMcCain.com. Obviously once the news hit mainstream media the McCain campaign quickly covered their tracks and hid their domain whois information behind private registration. They also redirected the domain name to Wikipedia and then Google.

They were not quick enough though as demonstrated by this youtube video - someone captured the original redirection on video:

The original WhoIs information can be clearly seen on the GovGap.com website - the domain name was original registered by JohnMcCain.com - McCain Palin 2008.

I find it quite amusing that once again domain names are playing a pivotal role in world politics following the recent Obama vs Clinton war of domains.

Additionally, it’s funny how the Republicans are trying to get votes based on Palin’s MILF factor? Are we to believe McCain is the brains while Palin is the eye candy in their campaign?

I am Australian and I find the whole behind the scenes/build up to the US elections quite interesting as we don’t see anything like it Down Under.

Obviously if you are a US citizen you would be taking all this a lot more seriously. Are you voting this year? If so, who do you support?

These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Digg
  • del.icio.us
  • Furl
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • Slashdot
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • Sphinn
Like the blog? Read the ultimate domaining ebook!
* Domaining secrets revealed
* Easy to follow text
* Step-by-step instructions
* 80 pages of content
Click Here To Get It

6 Responses to “McCain Campaign Registered Palin MILF Domain Name?”

Jamie
October 4th, 2008 at 12:58 pm

~ the domain name was original registered by JohnMcCain.com - McCain Palin 2008.

There is NO proof of this. The whois records were private from the start. The reason why so many things match up, is because both domains are registered with Godaddy and both use Godaddy Privacy!

I had looked into this before and nothing gave me solid proof that the McCain party registered the domain.

admin
October 4th, 2008 at 1:03 pm

You are wrong Jamie, check out the snapshot taken by the GovGap website of the whois record for voteforthemilf.com before it was changed:
http://www.govgap.com/2008/09/28/john-mccain-own-voteforthemilfcom/

John

Jamie
October 4th, 2008 at 1:45 pm

McCain Campaign Registered Palin MILF Domain Name?

Notice the Question mark you put in the title. Your not sure either or you wouldn’t of put ?

I looked MYSELF at whois history. I also looked what you showed me in the link above.

All this means Nothing..

- URL Registered within hours of McCain’s Decision to select Palin as running mate
- Redirect sends users specifically to a palin.htm file, but only on the FIRST redirect
- Whois Privacy Information Matches JohnMcCain.com Whois Privacy
- URL Held by same registrar
- Note that the .net and .org versions also redirect to the McCain Campaign Website

This just means it was Forwarded to JohnMcCain.com

- 64.203.107.149 (VoteForTheMILF.com)
- 64.203.107.149 (JohnMcCain.com)

The Domains By Proxy in All the whois means NOTHING again for both domains…

Maybe it’s to early in the morning and I’m missing something..

admin
October 4th, 2008 at 1:51 pm

I put the ? after the title as I question the whois authenticity but you keep referring to the domains by proxy.

Look at this image:
http://img264.imageshack.us/img264/2258/001dx0.png

There is no domains by proxy privacy protection there.

Now, someone could have registered the domain name and put in fake whois information - only that is debatable.

It is too early in the morning and you are missing the point.

Jamie
October 4th, 2008 at 2:11 pm

Hmmmm

Just nothing on that page that would make me change my mind.

The title can come from the Forward.

Is your picture “cut off”? because I see no Registrant info, Admin or nothing really different from what I see today in whois. Besides now that the whois is showing Google for the Title in whois.

I have looked at History and this domain had privacy for day one from what I can see.

Dave C
October 4th, 2008 at 8:41 pm

I’ve registered these which relate a bit to this posting:

GOVERNORMILF.COM
MILFGOVERNOR.COM
VICEPRESIDENTIALMILF.COM
ALASKANVPMILF.COM
MILFPOLITICIAN.COM
GILFVICEPRESIDENT.COM
GOVERNORGILF.COM
GOVERNORILF.COM
VICEPRESIDENTGILF.COM
GILFGOVERNOR.COM

Leave a Reply